How Endo & I met: Part I

Hello World! My name is LaLa and I am 24 years old. I live in Atlanta, GA where I was born and raised. I grew up with a big sister and a big brother. Yep that means I am the baby! I had a rather normal life grown up playing outside with siblings and friends. We played silly games like bust stop and hide and seek.

In general my childhood was the best. Up until I turned 11 years old. That’s where my life got truly difficult. I find it hard to say, well type that. I mean what real problem could an 11 year old child complain about LOL. Well at 11 I got what Mother Nature must have thought to be a cruel joke. I got my menstrual cycle. Yes I know it’s a girl’s destiny to “become a woman” however I am sure extreme pain and depression wasn’t meant to go along with it.

My first cycle came in the middle of the night when my parents were sleeping. I remember awaking to such terrible pain that I thought I was dying. I literally rolled out of bed onto the floor in a ball. I couldn’t stand and I didn’t know how I would reach the bathroom. My parent’s room was just down the hall but for me that seemed so far. After falling a few steps I managed to make it to my mom’s side of the bed. I grossly showed her my undies and cried out “mama something is wrong”. She quickly sat up and turned on the bedside lamp and replied “Chile, that’s just your period. It happens to all women”. I remember being so confused yet calm. I took an aspirin and got back into bed.

The next morning I awoke once again in terrible pain. This time with the lovely nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and fatigue. I begged my mom and dad to take me to the ER. Instead my dad insisted I just had normal period cramps. I remember thinking to myself “he’s not a woman, how does he know what cramps are like”. Yet still I sat there in pain. Monday morning came around and I missed school. My mom went and purchased me a heating pad, Tylenol and Gatorade. I felt a lot better laying with the heating pad but I knew it still wouldn’t solve it.

A few more months like that came and went. Each month I seemed to be in more and more pain. This time bleeding more and more and getting severely dehydrated. Finally my mom decided something wasn’t right and took me to the ER. I sat in the waiting room for about 2 hours before being called back to triage…blood pressure, weight and pain level. Then off to wait it the waiting room for another 45 minutes. I remember my mother getting really upset that they were calling people back before me that had colds and headaches. But there I was pale, dehydrated and short of breath just waiting.

Finally a nurse called out to me “Ms. Magitt, we are ready for you. Come on back”. My mother picked me up and took me back. When I got back my nurse gave me fluids and Phenergan as well as Morphine for the pain. I waited about 30 minutes for my Dr. to come in. In walks a man that looked like he could care less about my pain. He looks at me one good time and says “let’s get her a pelvic”. My mother wasn’t happy that they wanted to do a pelvic exam on an 11 year old that was already in pain. The nurse explained it was the best way to make sure I was ok. Pelvic pain concludes that nothing was wrong.

A week passed after being in the ER and my mom got me a OBGYN. I meet her for the first time and told her my symptoms. Her first words “I think you have Endometriosis, baby”! She told us she didn’t want to do surgery-Laparoscopy since I was so young. Instead she prescribed me Vicodin, Phenergan and Seasonal birth control. Instead of 12 excruciating cycles a year I now had 4 relatively pain free cycles. I really loved my life at that point. I could go to my friends’ parties or to the movies. I didn’t have to miss out on everyday activities…I felt normal. Right up until 17 years old when I lost my medical insurance. That’s where my life went right back to the day Mother Nature played that awful trick on me for the first time. More pain, nausea, diarrhea, constipation and more.

The next blog post will pick up right a 17 years old where my Endo came back with a terrible vengeance. To bite me in the ovaries!

I appreciate you all taking the time to read this HUGE post! ❤

-LaLa

Leave a Reply

