The hatred I have for Depo Provera also known as “The Shot”…..

On April 29th I got my 1st( and now ONLY) shot of Depo Provera. My doc assured me that it would work well for me. Convincing me through saying things like “You won’t a period for 3 months”, “My patients get no crazy side affects” oh and the one that sold me is “All my patients report no pain for the entire time or little at all”. THAT was the nail that sealed the deal for me! No pain for someone that has suffered from chronic pain nearly every days for 13 years. At that point I was eager for my first shot.

Shortly after the head nurse of pulling out her siring and the vial of milky Depo Provera. She asked if I wanted it in the arm or buttocks…I opted for the arm. I remember it burning a bit but mostly just making my arm feel heavy. About 2 hours later and I was home from the OBGYN. My arm was so sore that it felt as if I had been constantly doing push ups but with just one arm. Or as if someone had punched me with an iron fist. I was willing to endure that in hopes to be that one patient that has no issues on Depo and had zero pains.

As soon as the day after my shot I remember being extremely “excited” and badgering my partner for adult time LOL. She wasn’t used to that because usually I am too worried about the pain or my fatigue. Then maybe the 3rd day on the shot my libido dropped completely. I lost all urge to want any contact from my partner. I was extremely moody-snapping and yelling for the smallest things. This lasted maybe 2 weeks.

Then that awful side effect that all Depo users dreaded started…..The Spotting! It was May 16 exactly 18 days after getting my Depo Shot that my spotting came. I had just gotten a trans vaginal ultrasound so I thought that maybe the spotting was just a follow up to that. But then it got heavier and heavier over the next few days. After one week of spotting that turned into full out bleeding I’d had enough. I called my OB and asked to speak to a nurse or my doctor. I got absolutely nothing for nearly 3 weeks.

Finally on Friday June 7th…3 weeks after calling nearly 5 times a day someone answered. The nurse took down all my info and told me that the doc would get back to me shortly. Well shortly ended up being Monday June 10th which was my already scheduled 6 week follow up appointment. On that day I went in for my appointment. I finally spoke to my doc that informed me that she had no idea that I was attempting to reach her. I have no idea if this is true or not. But she gave me a prescription for Estadiol(Estrogen) 1 mg for 21 days.

Yes I was happy to have my perscription and to know that soon the bleeding would stop. However on the day of my appointment I had been bleeding for 23 days. I didn’t get to fill my prescription until Wed the 12th so a total of 25 days by then. I took my first pill on Wed and my 4th today and y bleeding has stopped…yay!!!

I was scheduled to come back for a 2nd shot but THAT will NOT be happening! Please do your research on Depo Provera ladies and hope for the best!

Sincerely,

This Endo Girl

-LaLa

Leave a Reply

